South Florida Mysteries

John D. MacDonald

I am an unapologetic mystery fan. From the moment I picked up my first Bobbsey Twins book,I was hooked. I eventually moved onto Nancy Drew, the Hardy Boys and Agatha Christie but excitement never pounded through my veins until I picked up my first Travis McGee by John D. MacDonald.

I was home literally, I grew up in South Florida. MacDonald understood the possible fate that was awaiting Florida with its runaway development and disregard for nature but he wrapped these themes in compelling mystery novels that raised the hairs on your arms.

Many terrific writers have emerged since those early days especially now that mysteries are no longer considered a sub genre, some still think so and will never admit to enjoying a good page turning mystery.

This link here is a fairly comprehensive list of some of the great Florida writers that can meet all tastes and interests. In the long list so do not let Carl Haissen get away as he is one of the true greats.

About thecompleatbookseller

I love Books.

Posted on September 8, 2011, in Authors, Fiction, Genres, Mysteries. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

What are your thoughts?

